Skip to content

Looking for housing in the area

Hey I’m Alex and have been living in Putney with my 7yo lab-mix dog Stella for 2.5 years now. If you don’t know me you may have seen me around town helping with the Putney Community Suppers, Bratt Gallery Walks, coaching soccer at TGS, or at PCS events as I help care for a student there. I really love this area and would love to stay within 30ish minutes of Brattleboro and move in to a new place by August 1st at the latest. Ideally I’m looking for a separate structure (like a cabin, tiny home, room above a garage, etc.) or an apartment, but open to having shared spaces with roommates in the right situation. I’m open to paying full rent, work-trade arrangements, or a combination of both.

I’m 35 and live a pretty quiet, simple life these days. Stella and I are both low maintenance and considerate tenants. I like to keep our living spaces clean and cared for. I have relatively high emotional intelligence, am good at resolving conflicts in healthy ways, and have never had any issues paying rent in full and on time. Stella is a real sweetheart who absolutely adores people and especially kids of all ages. She’s well trained off leash, not destructive (no chewing, digging, etc.), and is not a big barker. If you have other animals around we should talk about what your setup looks like and if Stella would fit in well.

I love working with kids and animals, and aspire to help all other living beings lead more peaceful and healthy lives. I’m strongly considering going to grad school in the area to pursue a career in therapy/counseling. I love to read/watch/learn/talk about lots of things including psychology, sociology, spirituality, science fiction, philosophy, permaculture, and film. Community is important to me and I coach soccer at the Grammar School, and volunteer with the Putney Community Suppers and Brattleboro Gallery Walks every month. I also do part time work helping a neighbor with their gardening/food growing, and help another with care of their chickens and ducks.

I grew up right outside Washington DC and lived in New York City for nine years after finishing my undergrad at the University of Virginia. I was a project manager for seven years at an international non-profit called Ashoka that supports social entrepreneurs and promotes systemic change for social good. I then worked for three years at a dog related hardware startup leading our national expansion, operations, and content production teams. When I left New York I spent a year in Red Lodge, Montana. After that I WWOOFed (a work trade on a farm) for nine months on an organic farm in Trout Lake, WA. And then by some good luck I was able to find this area and make it home!

I’m happy to provide multiple references (including some for Stella)!