Skip to content

Seeking Interested Community Members for Putney Board/Committee & Commission Positions

The following positions are appointed by the Selectboard. If you have an interest serving on a Board/Committee or Commission please send a letter of interest to the Town Manager at Your letter will be reviewed by the Chair of the Board/Committee or Commission. A recommendation from the Chair to the Selectboard will be considered at a future Board meeting and the Board will make a decision as a whole. Be involved, make a difference.

Planning Commission (5): The Planning Commission has broad authority to plan for the future needs of the community, which may include but limited to drafting and maintaining a current municipal plan and identifying tools, regulatory and non-regulatory to implement the plan. The Planning Commission solicits public input, weighs options and make policy decisions, some of which will chart the future of the community and which may eventually have the force and effect of law. The Commission must take care to represent all members and interests of the public officials, interest groups, civic groups and citizens.

The Planning Commission meets the first Tuesday of the Month, as needed, at the Town Hall; 7:00 pm.

Development Review Board (1): The Development Review Board (DRB) is a quasi-judicial board of seven (7) members responsible for hearing all development review applications, including application for site plan, subdivision, variance, conditional use, administrative zoning appeals and any other review authorized by the Putney Zoning Regulations.

The DRB meets on the 3rd Tuesday of the month, as needed, at the Town Hall; 7:00 pm.

Energy Committee (3): The Selectboard is seeking a five (5) or seven (7) member committee, with a scope of activities ranging from assessing energy conservation measures for the Town and making recommendations to educating the public on energy conservation.

CT River Joint Commission Representative (2):

Local River Management Advisory Committees (LACs) for each of the state’s designated rivers are a key component of the state Rivers Program. Each committee plays a vital role in protecting not only the river, but its shorelands as well. Ideally at least one resident from each riverfront community along the length of the designated river is appointed to the committee for a three-year term by the Rivers Management Advisory Committee. LAC members represent a broad range of interests and backgrounds. The main responsibilities of the local advisory committee is to develop and implement a local river corridor management plan, and to advise local, state and federal governing bodies and agencies of activities which may affect the water quality or flow of the protected river or segment and its tributary drainage area. NHDES offers the committee technical assistance in developing and implementing the management plan. All LAC members, with the exception of those representing Vermont towns on the Connecticut River sub-committees, must be New Hampshire residents.

Windham Regional Commissioner (1): Town Commissioners are appointed by their Selectboard. Windham Regional Commission (WRC) Bylaws allow towns in good standing to appoint up to two Commissioners. Commissioners are elected and typically have knowledge about or regional contacts around some specific subject area (e.g., housing, economic development, land conservation). Town Commissioners serve one-year terms that start April 1st. There is no limit on the number of terms a Commissioner can serve. Being a Commissioner is a volunteer position.